Our Policies

Our Framework: The Early Years Foundation Stage

As of September 2008 all Early Years providers who register with Ofsted have a duty to comply with the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS as it is more readily known). The EYFS aims to ensure that children from birth to five have access to consistently high quality Early Years care, learning and development regardless of the setting they attend or the area in which they live. The EYFS is focused around ‘play’ and flexibility that allows all children’s needs and interests to be met. The guiding principle of the document is to help children achieve the five Every Child Matters Outcomes, which are:

  • Being Healthy: Play supports children’s physical, mental and emotional health, growth and development.
  • Staying Safe: Through play, children are supported to explore physical and emotional risk and challenge safely.
  • Enjoying and Achieving: Play fosters children’s self- esteem by extending their choice and control, and hence the satisfaction they gain from it.
  • Making a Positive Contribution: Children’s play is naturally participative and inclusive. It fosters a respect for others and offers opportunities for social interactions.
  • Economic Well-Being: Through play, healthy, confident children and young adults will have a greater capacity to engage with life-long learning and development.
    • Early Years providers are required to deliver the EYFS and it’s seven areas of learning in order to achieve the Every Child Matters Outcomes. Click here for the seven areas of learning.

      For full Policies and Procedures, please ask when visiting the Teddy Bear's Playgroup.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player